ADDRESS

© 2018 Gertrude Remmel Butler Methodist Child Development Center, Inc.

Black Sheep Marketing
PHONE
ABOUT US

The Gertrude Remmel Butler Methodist Child Development Center (CDC) is dedicated to providing quality child care in a loving and educational environment for children six weeks to 12 years of age. The CDC is a non-profit facility and is governed by a Council of Directors which meets quarterly. The council is made up of FUMC members and parents. Under the direction of the CDC Council, the CDC improved the quality of early care offered to young children. The CDC is a Three Star Better Beginnings Center. This designation is the highest award given by the state of Arkansas.

Our History

Before 1988, the Child Development Center was in the nursery area of the First United Methodist Church-Little Rock serving around 75 children.  The present site of the CDC was an auto parts store, which the church bought to "tear down" and "put up a parking lot."  Due to the inspiration of a creative lady (Mary Katherine Raper) and a visionary committee, a request was made to the Senior Pastor to build a day care center on the property instead, and the rest, they say, is history!  Members of FUMC went in debt $2.5 million dollars to build the current facility which opened in March 1988.  In 1991, Richard Butler endowed the Center $250,000 and the building was named the Gertrude Remmel Butler Child Development Center of First United Methodist Church-Little Rock.  Mr. Butler served on the Budget Committee for many years, setting the tone for the future and ensuring that its programs would remain viable and stable for generations of working parents in downtown Little Rock.  Volunteers continue to serve the Center.

Our Administrative Staff

DIRECTOR

  • Sandra Farr:

sfarr@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

INFANT COORDINATOR

  • Venus Williams 

vwilliams@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

TODDLER COORDINATOR

  • Marissa Bouanhuena 

marissa@childdevelopmentcneterlr.com

PRESCHOOL/PRE-K COORDINATOR

  • Kendra Roberts 

kendra@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

SCHOOL AGE COORDINATOR

  • Arrena Porter 

arrena@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

BOOKKEEPER

  • Somer Spencer 

somer@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

ASSISTANT COORDINATOR

  • Crystal Byndom 

crystal@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

HR/ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR

  • Melessia Pippen 

melessia@childdevelopmentcenterlr.com

Our Facility

Gross motor activities are very important in child development.  CDC’s infants and toddlers play on an enclosed outdoor playground which was renovated in 2017.  Our outdoor playground has three sections to promote gross motor development at all developmental stages for infants and toddlers.  The preschool and school age programs utilize an indoor play gym which was remodeled in 2016.  The gym has slides and several play centers along with a climbing apparatus and basketball court.  We have large screened windows that allow fresh air to flow through.